Computing HND (Higher Technical Qualification) (Level 5)

Pearson BTEC Higher National qualifications take a student-centred approach to the curriculum. There is a flexible, unit-based structure that focuses on developing the practical, interpersonal and thinking skills the student will need to succeed in employment and higher education. They represent the latest in professional standards and provide opportunities for students to develop skills and behaviours for work, for example by taking part in a group project or meeting a client brief.
The Pearson BTEC Higher Nationals provides a range of general and specialist study units, both core and optional, each with a clear purpose, so there is something to suit each student’s choice of programme and future progression plans
Its up-to-date content, closely in line with the needs of employers, professional bodies and higher education, for a skilled future workforce

What Will I study

All units are 15 credits in value. The units on this programme have been designed from a complete set of skills and knowledge to provides many opportunities for further education or a career development.

Year 1 of the course (General Pathway), covers the following units:

1: Programming
2: Networking
3: Professional Practice
4: Database Design & Development
5: Security 15 4
6: Planning a Computing Project (Pearson-set)
7: Software Development Lifecycles
13: Website Design & Development

Year 2 of the course (General Pathway), covers the following units:

16: Computing Research Project (Pearson-set)
17: Business Process Support
35: Systems Analysis & Design
39: Network Management
41: Database Management Systems
45: Internet of Things
47: Emerging Technologies


The Level 5 Higher National Diploma allows you to specialise by committing to specific career paths and progression routes to degree-level study.

Once you have achieved the Level 5 Higher National Diploma, you can develop your career in the respective
sector by:
• entering employment
• continuing existing employment
• linking with the appropriate professional body
• studying at university.

Entry Requirements

Admission to the programme requires 32 UCAS tariff points with GCSE English grade 4.

Applicants will need to provide evidence of concept art as well as games and animations they have produced in the past for entry onto the course.

Non-standard applicants will be required to produce evidence of their ability to study at a higher education level. Short-courses and relevant work experience may be considered.


FutureSkills at MediaCityUK




Please contact our Admissions Team for fee information and advice on remission


NameAvailable at:Start DateAcademic Year
Computing HND (Year 1 of 2) (Level 5) FutureSkills at MediaCityUK 25/09/2023 23/24